Extra Mile Award

The Extra Mile Award dates back to 1990 and was established by Soror Barbara Curtis with the assistance of Soror Anna Johnson Julian.  This Award was created in response to the Chapter’s desire to annually award those members who were not Elected Officers and were performing extraordinary work in the chapter.

There are 13 steps of criteria related to the award.  Several of them are that a Soror recognizes, respects, and upholds the Christian principles upon which Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was founded.

She must have clearly distinguished herself with positive leadership abilities and/or dynamic work on committees. She shows genuine respect, concern, and warmth towards others.  She is an unconditional giver of her time and expertise.

Past Award Recipients


2024   LeDonna Rollins Barnes

2023  Tamela Odom

2021  Cynthia Thomas Chappell

2020  Bernadette Moore-Tompkins

2019  Charisse Hill

2018  Rose Williams

2017  Tracie Davis

2016  Adrienne Hubbard

2015  LaVerne Harper-Weatherly

2014  Angela J. Billings

2013  JeTaun Corker-DeBerry

2012  Carol Parham

2011  Phyllis Little

2010  Cheryl Matthews

2009  Olivia Amos

2008  Deborah Jones Buggs

2007  June Pembroke

2006  Sylvia Harvey

2005  Pamela Hamb

2004  Pamela Foster

2003  Patricia Stovall

2002  Vienna Jefferson

2001  Sheila Wilkinson-Sanders

2000  Mary Moss

1999  Deborah M. Douglas

1998  Lillian Lewis

1997  Darlene Pollard

1996  Maria Moore

1995  Bernadette Whitt

1994  Julia Branson

1993  Fetina Fontennett

1992  Carron Woods

1991  Vivian Douglas

1990  Belvia Strickland and Jaedenia Wilder